My Opening Day Agenda

by
You never know who you might see at Bella Italia.

You never know who you might see at Bella Italia.

I don’t know about you, but to me opening Sunday feels a lot like Christmas morning. There’s excitement in the air, opportunities to reconnect with old friends, and—this year, at least—snow on the ground!

The Flower Show truly does offer something for everyone, but here’s a quick glance into how I’m spending my first day. Read on to see my exciting itinerary; feel free to use it as a template for your own outing.

First, I’ll explore the central exhibits. This year it’s a tribute to Rome and all the other marvelous Italian cities. I hope my walkabout syncs up with a musical performance; be it opera or the sweet strums of a mandolin, music really contributes to the mood.

When I conclude my tour of Italy, I’ll stop by the PNC Pavilion and vote for my favorite exhibit. Far more strenuous than any presidential election, picking just one exhibit out of all the enticing candidates is almost too much to bear. 

Up next is souvenir shopping. I’m certain the Meadowbrook Farm store will have some herbs for my mother’s garden, then I’ll treat myself to some Flower Show merchandise at the PHS Shoppe.

Ok, time to get my learn on. I want to attend a culinary display, that’s for sure. After all, it’s not everyday I get an audience with one of the areas finest chefs. I also intend to plan a lecture, but I haven’t decided which one. I’ll consult the schedule when I arrive and plan my day accordingly. Something about orchids could be nice.

After all that I imagine I’ll have worked up an appetite, so I’ll grab a soft pretzel (and likely an ice cream cone) and take a second tour of the exhibits in Halls A and B. With a snack in hand and an old Italian ditty in my ears, it’ll be the perfect way to cap off another great opening day. 

See you at the Flower Show!

2 Responses to “My Opening Day Agenda”

  1. Michele M Says:

    I would love to catch some ‘streetomsphere’ characters in costume during my day tomorrow.

    Your intin looks pretty good except for the lecture and the class. Not enough time, I’m afraid. 😦

    I’m hoping the food areas will not be crazy since I don’t really want to leave the Halls. We’ll once I get there late tomorrow morning.

    Here’s to hoping it’s a great show day – as well as travel & weather-wise!

  2. Michele Says:

    It was crazy packed! I mean, crazy, crazy.

    So, no characters walking around that I could see. If I couldn’t see the floor, I’m sure they could not. Still had a fantasico time!!! 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

