You Say Tomato

by

LaurastomatoesJPG

I’m keeping a tight watch on my tomatoes this year after news has surfaced of late blight.

So far so good. My tomato starts came from PHS President Jane Pepper herself as well as a neighborhood friend so I’m hoping that that good luck will keep them healthy.

As you may know, the Flower Show is great place to gather information on all things gardening, including vegetables. Dozens of lectures and demonstrations are being planned as we speak and vegetables will take an even bigger role at the 2010 Show, “Passport to the World.”

After little success last summer, I changed the location of my raised bed in my row-house back yard to a new spot with more sun. With the early rain, my plants are taller than ever. I’m still a beginner so I keep my expectations low. Last year, I only produced two tomatoes. This year, I’m going for 10!

For tips on how to check for late blight, read Virginia Smith’s Philadelphia Inquirer article here.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

