Sam’s Hawaiian Odyssey: Pineapple Paradise

by
Of all the jobs in world, few are as enviable as that of Sam Lemheney, the Flower Show design director. There is a lot of pressure, but a lot of perks too! Earlier in the year Sam went to Hawaii to get inspired for the 2012 Show. We’ll share his adventures with you here on the blog. Up first, the Dole Plantation. Take it away, Sam!

If thoughts of Hawaii make you thirsty for a tropical, fruity drink, you’re not alone. My days in Oahu brought me to the Dole Plantation, which offers “The Complete Pineapple Experience.” What started out as a humble fruit stand in 1950 has become one of Hawaii’s top tourist attractions!

James Dole founded the Hawaiian Pineapple Company in 1900, and the Dole Plantation celebrates Hawaii’s role in popularizing the fruit all over the world. On my visit, I rode the Pineapple Express, a vintage-style train that takes passengers on a narrated tour of the working agricultural lands. I also got turned around in the three-acre Pineapple Garden Maze.

Now that I’m back in Pennsylvania, I think about my visit to the Dole Plantation each time I walk into work at PHS. In our first-floor office windows we put up signs promoting the 2012 Flower Show—the larger-than-life pineapple image on display looks good enough to eat!

I’ll be back soon to tell you about up-close look at exotic orchids. Until then!

Tags:

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 181 other followers

