Sam’s Hawaiian Odyssey: Orchid Overload

by

Of all my stops in Oahu, I was most eager to visit H&R Orchids, a nursery known worldwide for its innovation in creating orchid hybrids. H&R also features an overwhelming variety of rare and unusual orchid species, many of which I had never seen before.

I was like a kid in a candy store walking around the H&R nursery. Luckily for me, however, I don’t need to go all the way to Hawaii when I need an orchid fix. Many of you are likely familiar with Waldor Orchids in Linwood, NJ (not far from Atlantic City). For years and years Waldor has contributed outstanding exhibits to the Flower Show and, frankly, I can’t imagine having a Show without them.

Now that I’m tasked with bringing Hawaii to Philadelphia, I’m counting on Walter Off and the entire Waldor team to populate the central feature with hundreds of orchids of all shapes and colors. We’ve met a few times to brainstorm and create tentative plant lists. The details will be ironed out in the months ahead, but I can say this much: if you like orchids, you’re going to love the 2012 Flower Show.

I took so many photos at H&R, I put them in a slideshow. Good luck picking a favorite!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 180 other followers

