Sam’s Hawaiian Odyssey: Parting Thoughts

by

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As the 2012 Flower Show comes closer, I’ve been reflecting more on my fantastic trip to Hawaii. From the moment I stepped off the plane I was greeted with warmth and openness. This continued throughout my travels as strangers quickly became friends. So this is the “aloha spirit” I’d heard so much about!

Now I have the awesome responsibility of recreating this energy for everyone who comes to the 2012 Flower Show. I’ve done my best to hold true to the customs and culture of this amazing state; and I hope I make my new friends proud.

You’ll get to meet some of these wonderful people for yourself. We’re setting up a shopping and demonstration area called the “Hawaii Village.” Here you’ll see talented craftspeople at work and have the opportunity to take home items that speak to you. Be sure to ask the artisans questions; they take pride in their products—and you’ll see why.

I have to extend heartfelt thanks to the Hawaiian Tourism Authority for its endless insights throughout this process. I’ve learned so much and have gained memories that will last long after the Show closes. I also want to recognize the Hawaii Tropical Flower Council (HTFC), Hawaii Floriculture & Nursery Association (HFNA), Hawaii Florists & Shipper’s Association (HFSA), Hawaii Export Nursery Association (HENA), and Orchid Growers of Hawaii (OGOH)—all of whom will be represented on the Show floor this year.

So I guess that’s it. Thank you for reliving my journey with me. If you missed the previous posts, click here. And as they say in Hawaii: Mahalo!

Tags:

Leave a Reply

